In 1958, Bernard J. Mayotte joined with Wesley W. Webb to establish Mayotte-Webb Architects. Mayotte and Webb set up their firm in East Lansing, Michigan, where it would remain for the next thirty years. In 1961, the firm became incorporated and added two more principals, Nobyn H. D’Haene and John E. Crouse. Over subsequent years, Mayotte-Webb Architects would expand and evolve. The firm came to be known as Mayotte, Crouse and D’Haene Architects and then Mayotte, D’Haene and Associates.

In 1982, Michael B. Mayotte joined Mayotte, D’Haene and Associates. In 1986, Mayotte, D’Haene, and Associates merged with the Warren Holmes-Kenneth Black Company. Renamed MBDS Architects, the firm’s principals were Bernard J. Mayotte, D.S. “Bud” Budzynski, Nobyn D’Haene, Richard Stuckman and Michael B. Mayotte. The firm was located in East Lansing, Michigan until it relocated in 1988 to Delta Township, west of Lansing.

Several East Lansing landmarks were designed by either Mayotte, D’Haene, and Associates or the Warren Holmes-Kenneth Black Company, such as the St. Thomas Aquinas Catholic Church, the East Lansing Fire Station, the Michigan Education Association complex, the East Lansing City Hall, and East Lansing High School. One of the first projects designed by the firm as MBDS was the Accident Fund of Michigan building in downtown Lansing.

In 1992, Michael B. Mayotte took over as the President of MBDS and Paul C. Jacob became a principal of the firm.

In 1996, the firm changed its name to MayotteJacob Architects. MayotteJacob provided ongoing services to Auto-Owners Insurance, Thomas M. Cooley Law School, Accident Fund, and Michigan Education Association, while also continuing a strong practice in the area of religious architecture.

In 2006, MayotteJacob Architects became MAYOTTEgroup Architects. The firm continued to serve its ongoing client base while expanding its services in interior architecture and design as well as developing new ways to assist clients in maintaining existing buildings.

In 2009, Todd Gute became President of MAYOTTEgroup Architects. In 2010, Matt McGaughey, Nicole Badgero, and Jeff Sherman became Principals of the firm, completing the leadership team. MAYOTTEgroup Architects continues to strive for the same level of quality design and commitment to service on which it was initially founded over 50 years ago.

In 2014, MAYOTTEgroup Architects announced its partnership with Keystone Design Group|Architects. Bringing together two high-quality firms helps ensure continued success in today’s marketplace. While the firm’s reputation has been built on excellence and exceptional service, it looks forward to implementing additional efficiencies that will deliver an even higher level of client satisfaction. With the addition of Keystone Design Group, MAYOTTEgroup Architects’ footprint continues to grow as Michigan’s first choice for architectural and interior design.